Home | About Us | Subscriptions | Advertising | El Centinela | ARCHIVES
Catholic Sentinel | Portland, OR Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Marylhurst grad program May-August

Home : Arts : Arts and Entertainment News
5/9/2017 12:12:00 PM
Portland Columbia Symphony presents West Coast premieres
Concerto for Simply Grand Piano and Orchestra by P.D.Q. Bach
P.D.Q. Bach, aka Peter Schickele, the “21st of J.S. Bach’s 20 Children,” plays piano.
P.D.Q. Bach, aka Peter Schickele, the “21st of J.S. Bach’s 20 Children,” plays piano.
More information

Pieces performed

DEBUSSY: Prélude á laprès-midi d’un faune
SCHICKELE: Concerto for Simply Grand Piano & Orchestra
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5


7:30 p.m., Friday, May 12, First United Methodist, 1838 SW Jefferson, Portland
3 p.m., Sunday May 14, Mt. Hood Community College Theatre, NE 29th & Kane St., Gresham

General Admission: $35
Senior (60+): $30
Student (13+ with ID): $10
Child (12 and under): $5
Tickets are available at columbiasymphony.org or by calling (503) 234-4077
Running time:  90 minutes

On Friday, May 12 at 7:30pm, Portland Columbia Symphony presents the West Coast premiere of a new co-commissioned piano concerto by P.D.Q. Bach, aka Peter Schickele, the “21st of J.S. Bach’s 20 Children.” “Concerto for Simply Grand Piano and Orchestra” will be performed by pianist Jeffrey Biegel.

The concerto’s story began in 2002, when Jeffrey Biegel approached Schickele, a sort of musical comedian, to consider composing a new work for piano and orchestra for Biegel to perform. Schickele was too busy, and declined. In 2015, Biegel asked again. Portland Columbia Symphony is one of 15 orchestras presenting the work. “I am honored and delighted to bring this new “Concerto for Simply Grand Piano and Orchestra” to audiences in the USA and Europe during the 2016-17-18 seasons,” says Schickele.

The orchestra will also perform “Gloriana,” by David Bernstein. The work won the PCSO & Cascadia Composer Competition.

Music Director Steven Byess leads the orchestra in the finale performances of Portland Columbia Symphony’s 35th season with works by Debussy and Shostakovich.

Article Comment Submissions
Submit your comments, please. 
Comments are reviewed before being posted to the site. Comments must use respectful language and address the story. Comments are not posted immediately to the site. The site editor may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours. Comments may also be considered to appear as letters in our print edition, unless the writer specifices no.
Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

News | Viewpoints | Faith & Spirituality | Parish and School Life | Entertainment | Obituaries | Find Churches and Schools | About Us | Subscriptions | Advertising
E-Newsletter | RSS Feeds

© 2017 Catholic Sentinel, a service of Oregon Catholic Press

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved